About Mysore Tennis

Tennis is a global sport and a very popular in the sporting scene. Mysore has a tradition of producing talented players from time to time. The talents have gone on to represent the country and state in different levels.

Players like Prahlad Srinath, Rohan Boppanna have represented India in Davis Cup. Poojashree Venkatesh has the credentials of being the first Karnataka player to represent the country in the US Open junior girls singles event and Wimbledon juniors in 2008. She was ranked No.1 in the country in the junior girls section in 2007-08. She also represented India in the Commonwealth Youth games and won a silver medal. Youngster Suraj R Prabodh is presently amongst the top ranked men’s player in the state and is currently ranked in the country. S.D.Prajwal Dev (ranked No.2 in the men’s section in the state) and C.Vasisht (the former National junior champion) are from our city.

Players like Mohit Vijaykumar, N.P. Raghuveer, Chaitanya Srinivas, D.R. Jayadeva, R. Nagaraj, Neeth Devaiah have made Mysore proud with their performances in the National and International level.

Players like M.V. Abhayprakash, G. Bharat Raj, S. Prateek, Swetha Devraj, R.K. Praveen, S.G. Adarsh, Trishul Mahesh, H.J. Prajwal, Vibhav M Iyengar, M.D. Shreyas, Rohit Srinath,  Chirag S Igoor, Varun Gopal, S. Karan,C.M.Kiran, Anupama M .R. Chirashanthi M.R, Likitha Devraj, Rachana R Gowda, Suraj R Prabodh, A.K. Padmapriya, S. Kishen, Rohit R Gowda, G.Manish, H.C.Akanksha, Mustafa Raja, have made Mysore proud with their feats in the National and State-level.

Mysore Tennis Club, Chamarajapuram has played a very important role in the shaping the career of many a tennis players and the club has been promoting the game with a very social cause and is the pioneer tennis clubs in the state.


2. Tennis Clubs

Mysore Tennis Club:  Address: Krishnaraja Boleward, Chamarajapuram, Mysore-570004. Ph: 2330463.

President: Alagappan

Hon. Secretary:


Facilities: 5 Synthetic courts and 2 clay courts & gymnasium.

About the club:  The Mysore Tennis Club is one of the pioneer tennis clubs promoting tennis in the country. The club has a rich tradition and has been producing talented players from time to time. Davis Cupper Prahlad Srinath and  Rohan Bopanna are products of this club.

As early in 1975, Mysore Tennis club had in its ranks players like N.P. Raghuveer, J. Jagadish and Ethiraj (who were ranked amonst the top 10 players in the country). The club had five state ranked players two in the seniors and three in the junior level namely: C.S. Ramaswamy, R.Gopalakrishna (seniors) and Ajay Pedio, Mohit Vijay Kumar and N.V. Chaitanya in the junior level.

 Later on players like Prahlad Srinath, D.R. Jayadeva, Girish, R. Nagaraj, Neeth Devaiah, S. Safiuddin, Bharatraj, Abhay Prakash and S. Prateek made a mark. Players like G.Geethraj, G. Bhavyaraj, M.R. Anupama, M.R. Chirashanthi, Swetha Devraj, Vibhav M Iyengar, S.G. Adarsh, Trishul Mahesh, R.K. Praveen,  M.D. Shreyas, H.J. Prajwal, Rohit Srinath, Chirag S Igoor, Varun Gopal, C.M. Kiran, S.Karan, Likitha Devraj, Rachana R Gowda, A.K. Padmapriya, S. Kishen, Rohit R Gowda continued to keep up the tradition.

Membership: 1000/- Deposit

Monthly: 100/-

Free membership for boys and girls below 10 years.

Timings: 6a.m to 9.00 a.m & 2.30 p.m to 6.00 p.m (except Mondays).

Ph: 0821-2330463

Facilities: 3 synthetic courts, 3 clay courts.


Garden Tennis Club:

Address: Guest Hose Road : Nazarbad, Mysore . Ph: 0821-2564582

Membership: Adults; 10,000/- deposit and Rs.200/- per month.

 Children: 500/- deposit and Rs.200/- per month.

Timings: 6 to 9 a.m & 2.30 p.m to 6.00 p.m.

Facilities: 3 clay courts.


Vontikoppal Club:

Address: Jayalakshipuram, Next to Vontikoppal Police Station, Mysore . Ph: 0821-2513625.

Facilities; 3 clay courts, badminton courts.


Cosmopolitan Club:

Address: Next to Ramya Hotel, Mysore . Ph: 0821-2423881

Facilities- 2 clay courts, swimming pool, badminton courts, snooker and billiards and gymnasium.


R.Nagaraj’s Tennis Centre

Maharaja’s College tennis courts & SJCE tennis courts.

Coaching by R. Nagaraj-Ph: 09845540506


Raghuveer Tennis Club

Address: Maharana Pratap Singh Road , Next to Olive Garden, Nazarbad, Mysore . Ph: 09886495901.

Coaching: N.P. Raghuveer

Facilities:  8 clay courts.


Free Mount Tennis Club’s Charan’s tennis Academy :


Address:1)University Tennis courts, Opposite Hotel Ramya, Mysore .

2) Vijayanagar Club, 2nd Stage, Near Divya Roopa Kalyan Mantap, Mysore

Coaching: M.J. Charan- Ph: 09342441837 and 0821-2545050

Mini Tennis-The first Centre to introduce Mini Tennis in schools in Mysore for school children.


Southern Railway Tennis Courts, Railway Quarters, Mysore .

Facilities: 2 clay courts.

Coaching: Gopal (Ph:09845293785).


Infosys campus, Belavadi Post, Mysore .

Facilities: 4 Synthetic Tennis courts. Swimming Pool, Bowling alley, Squash, Badminton courts, Table Tennis, Athletics grounds, Cricket grounds and Gymnasium.

Ph: 9349592000.


De Paul International Residential School

KRS Road , Mysore .

Facilities: 4 clay courts

Coach: Deepak (Ph: 9900557696).


Postal Training Centre

Address: Nazarbad, Mysore .

Facilities: Two clay courts.

Coach: Jayaprakash.


Reserve Bank of India

Address: Metagalli, Mysore

Facilities: 2 synthetic courts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *